A little background story on me, that I don’t tell almost anyone. 

On this day, June 12th, 2012 I got married. I don’t want to go into detail, I did it to try and help the boyfriend I had at the time and it rapidly unraveled into the biggest among the few regrets I have. But, I had picked this date for a specific reason. At the time I was taking a psychology class and in my reading I found out that June 12th was the day that the ban on interracial marriage in America was finally over turned for all states. All thanks in part to the courageous couple of Richard and Mildred Loving. 

I have always dated interracially. I’m Filipino. I’ve had boyfriends and dated men who are white, Mexican, Salvadoran, and mixed with all sorts of other ethnicities. I know I’m lucky to have grown up in my diverse Bay Area bubble where interracial couples and mixed children were not judged or uncommon. Today is the 50th, the golden anniversary of when the Lovings won their court case against the state of Virginia. Thank you, Lovings, may you rest in peace with the legacy you’ve left behind. 

On a slightly related note, I’ve finally found the song that makes me instantly think of my boyfriend, “our” song I suppose, though I have yet to tell him so. It’s “Beyond The Sea” by Bobby Caldwell, though I much prefer the Kevin Spacey cover. A little cliche given the fact that he’s in the Navy, but exactly why I think it’s so fitting. One month into his deployment and now I miss him. Not terribly, mostly the physical comfort of him. Curling up in bed together on weekends, laying my leg on top of his when we read next to each other in bed, holding hands when we’re in the car.

They were in Singapore and had that cut short. I’ll wait till they leave where they are now before updating on him. I do wish he’d understand the concept of TIME ZONES though and realize he’s texting me usually in the inconvenient time from midnight to 5am. It was nice getting to talk to him for two days in a row though. Text only, his wifi wasn’t good enough for audio or video.

Here’s to Loving Day ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™ (my favorite color is purple, his is blue) ๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿปโ€๐Ÿซ๐Ÿ‘ฎ๐Ÿป(I used to be a preschool teacher and I do wear glasses, I know he’s not a police officer, or allowed to have a mustache, but it was the closest to his uniform in the emojis).

Leave a Reply

